How I Won NaNoWriMo in 14 Days

November 15, 2010 at 12:29 pm Leave a comment

1. Type. Type. Type. Type.

2. No editing, deleting, backspace-ing, or re-reading what I just wrote.

3. Type at every chance I got, even if it was for 10 minutes while the water for noodles was cooking.

4. Repeat.

 

Things I did NOT do:

1. Listen to music while I typed

2. Have a detailed outline or plot

3. Meet up with other local NaNoWriMos. (Although two Jugs members are participating, so we did talk things out a little.)

4. Use a notebook or anything when I was away from my computer or laptop, to jot down ideas.

Honestly, I found it more TEDIOUS than anything. Every day, it was like homework looming over my head, that I had to get done before I could go do anything fun.

 

I incorporated some elements of my life (the main character is a nurse at an infusion center who treats an anemic pregnant woman who is planning a homebirth; the main male character goes to a 72-hour drug detox — I volunteered at one when I was in collgege; there’s a subplot involving an unplanned pregnancy), some totally random stuff (main male character is an injured war vet; there’s a character who is a seminary student, as well as a divorced dad college professor), and just some random stuff for fun (a character’s mother is a very famous actress). That is pretty much it — I kept the plot simple enough so that I didn’t have to take notes. I didn’t mention any specific details about location or time frame (except several references to September 11).

And that was it. I feel a little more free now — I don’t have anything hanging over my head. Who knew I was an anti-procrastinator?

Actually now I’m thinking of what I NEED for Tax Deduction. I have boobs that are already producing milk. I have tons of cloth diapers. I got a lot of baby clothes at my shower/blessing. I would still like: My Breast Friend (Nice-Nice and Das Cinderella are both giving me their old ones; I’ll have an upstairs Breast Friend and a downstairs Breast Friend), Utterly Yours breast pillow; a TV with a remote so I can watch Netflix while I nurse; and some more freezer meals.

Entry filed under: family, friends, NaNoWriMo, pregnancy. Tags: , .

Quick NaNoWriMo writing prompt Thanksgiving Recipes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Mommy Soup

Wife and homeschooling mom of five, including my Christmas Day homebirth baby. Not Catholic, Amish, or quiverfull; we just like to... you know!

Writing about my interests: natural pregnancy and birth; attachment parenting; cooking; baking; homeschooling; green living; human rights; child passenger safety; dog training, and life after weight-loss surgery.

In my free time I try to figure out how I can promote world peace while wasting time on Facebook.

NaNoWriMo 2010

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Feeds

Cream of Mommy Soup is on Facebook!


