In between making a prenatal exam cheat sheet for the back of my clipboard

April 13, 2009 at 5:20 pm Leave a comment

Here is your daily quiche recipe, “Breakfast Quiches to Go” —

But first, let me explain why I love quiche. Mostly it can be summed up in three words: Weight Loss Surgery. I had a biliopancreatic diversion with a duodenal switch (hereby known as a DS or a “switch”) in November 2008, when I weighed 262lbs. I currently weight 172lbs, which means I’ve lost 90lbs in 5 months. It’s been fairy easy (I can’t drink milk or eat too many carbs, otherwise I feel gross) and although it was excruciatingly painful at first, I feel fantastic now. (But I can’t ever forget, it was the most pain I’ve ever experienced in my life, and I will never have abdominal surgery again if I can help it.)

From allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 (8 ounce) cans Pillsbury® refrigerated garlic butter crescent dinner rolls
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3 Eggland’s Best eggs
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 (9 ounce) box Green Giant® frozen chopped spinach, thawed, squeezed to drain
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 16 (2 3/4×1 1/4-inch) muffin cups with CRISCO® Original No-Stick Cooking Spray.
  2. Separate each can of crescent dough into 8 triangles. Press 1 triangle on bottom and up side of each muffin cup.
  3. In large bowl, beat cream cheese with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in onion, spinach, salt and pepper until well mixed. Fold in cheese. Fill each cup to the top with egg mixture (do not overfill).
  4. Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean and edges of rolls are golden brown. Remove from pan. Serve warm.

Nutritional Information

Servings Per Recipe: 16

Amount Per Serving

Calories: 197

  • Total Fat: 14g
  • Cholesterol: 60mg
  • Sodium: 429mg
  • Total Carbs: 12.6g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0.2g
  • Protein: 6.3g

Entry filed under: cooking, weight loss surgery.

Because Boobs are the Best! Serendipity: Coming soon to a computer near you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Mommy Soup

Wife and homeschooling mom of five, including my Christmas Day homebirth baby. Not Catholic, Amish, or quiverfull; we just like to... you know!

Writing about my interests: natural pregnancy and birth; attachment parenting; cooking; baking; homeschooling; green living; human rights; child passenger safety; dog training, and life after weight-loss surgery.

In my free time I try to figure out how I can promote world peace while wasting time on Facebook.

NaNoWriMo 2010

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Feeds

Cream of Mommy Soup is on Facebook!


