Because Boobs are the Best!

April 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm Leave a comment

One aspect of midwifery education/experience in which I am sorely lacking is breastfeeding. Of my four children, I only breastfed one for longer than a month, and that was Sydney. (I will explain the whys later.) Sydney and I had not a single problem during our breastfeeding relationship, and while I’m really happy that our experience was so positive, I realize that I lack the ability to address problems based on my own experiences! She had num-nums for about a year and we both loved it.

I think that my best personal characteristic for being a childbirth educator and doula and midwife-to-be is my vast array of birth experiences. I’ve given birth in a hospital — in an O.R. — in a birth center and at home. I’ve given birth with an epidural, a shot of narcotic, and medication-free. I’ve experienced labor starting with contractions that got longer, stronger and closer together, and labor that started with my water breaking. I’ve experienced a labor that didn’t start for nearly 2 days after my water had broken, which really tested my patience and my faith in my body! I’ve had one baby born with a cord around her neck. I’ve had to change my birth plans based on needed medical care. I’ve had a great birth experience and not-so-great birth experiences. I think those experiences are my greatest personal assets to a client.

But not so much with breastfeeding.

First, a confession: I had a breast reduction when I was 16, not thinking about ever breastfeeding in the future, or how having a reduction would affect it. Then, when I was around 20, I had a boyfriend who had a baby that was 100% formula fed in bottles. She was a sweet happy baby, and that was my first experience with seeing a baby eat. Later I had a friend who had a baby (my first doula client) and she breastfed for a year, but she experienced overwhelming feelings of sadness when she first breastfed — there’s a word for it, but I can’t remember it.

So, when I was a single mom-to-be of twins, my focus was mainly on having a vaginal birth, and not so much on breastfeeding. I went to a La Leche League meeting, but I just didn’t give breastfeeding a lot of thought. I had been told by my doc that my babies would likely be in the NICU, and they’d be tube-fed high-calorie formula if they were preemies. (This was all determined by the fact that they had Twin-to-Twin Transfusion Syndrome and would likely be born prematurely.) I could breastfeed if I wanted, and I could pump and store milk, but they would be tube-fed and then bottle-fed before they could go home from the NICU. And I just didn’t really think about the transition and how difficult it would be, and whether or not I even believed I could get them 100% breastfed because of my reduction. So, I pumped and bottle-fed them for about three weeks, at which point my level of exhaustion was so great that I made the informed (or so I thought, but looking back I was woefully uneducated) decision to formula feed. Pumping and feeding IS exhausting; someone on motheringdotcommune once calculated that she spent an extra 40 hours per week on pumping and feeding — 40 hours that she didn’t spend with her baby or family.

With Allegra, I had much better intentions. I dutifully breastfed. It was painful and I didn’t give my breasts much time to heal. I didn’t give myself much time to bond with Allegra either — I was hell-bent on not taking any time away from Rory and Tiger, and it was to my own detriment and to the detriment of my relationship with Allegra. (In retrospect, I wish I’d done a “babymoon” or a “laying-in” period with Allegra, which I did do with Sydney. It’s basically a time just to focus on breastfeeding and bonding with your newborn. It’s lovely.)

At three weeks after Allegra’s birth, I developed this terrible pain in my stomach, and I went to the ER and had emergency gallbladder removal. I came home the next day and we went back to breastfeeding. But after that, I developed a post-op infection and spent the next week in the hospital, without Allegra. The hospital told me I couldn’t have Allegra with me because hospitals are full of sick people (aside: if it’s so full of sick people, why is it okay for babies to be BORN there?!?!?!) and my doctor suggested I dry up and stop breastfeeding her.

I was devastated, and I followed his advice, but I was so incredibly sad. Later I tried to re-lactate, but it was just too difficult. I really tremendously regret following that advice, and saying okay to Allegra not being with me in the hospital. It was such wrong advice on so many levels. I wish so much that I’d had some of the friends I have now — friends who would have provided me with a pump and support in continuing to breastfeed, friends who might have even nursed Allegra themselves so she didn’t forget how to breastfeed!

But Sydney was my baby where I really tried to do everything “right,” and that included breastfeeding. I did a laying in with her for two weeks, during which we cuddled and breastfed and I caught up on “One Tree Hill,” that terrible show on CW. By the time Dustin went back to work, I felt comfortable with my new baby and with breastfeeding her. I felt more than comfortable — I felt bonded and attached. It was a fantastic feeling. I can’t even really describe it. She looked at me, drunk on milk, and I look back at her, drunk on oxytocin. We were a pair.

I would have liked to breastfeed her longer than a year, but I desperately needed to have weight-loss surgery. I was morbidly obese and was starting to experience some common comorbidities with morbid obesity. I didn’t want to put it off for another year.

So that’s my story on my breastfeeding experiences: three kids for about three weeks, and one kid for a year with no problems. I never had any mastitis, let-down problems, engorgement, over-supply, infection, thrush or any other types of problems. I can spot and possibly correct a bad latch, but I don’t have the personal experience with breastfeeding issues that other CBEs and doulas and midwives have. And I’d like that experience.

I know there are some doulas and CBEs and midwives who don’t even have children, who have never been pregnant or breastfed. I also know that anecdotal experience is not the entire picture. There are tons of aspects of midwifery that I’ve never seen, things that are probably even considered common. I haven’t had a c-section and I don’t particularly want that experience! But this is something I can learn about.

Aviva Institute, where I took my CBE class, offers a three-week Breastfeeding Educator course, and I’d really like to take it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A glimpse of the future In between making a prenatal exam cheat sheet for the back of my clipboard

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Mommy Soup

Wife and homeschooling mom of five, including my Christmas Day homebirth baby. Not Catholic, Amish, or quiverfull; we just like to... you know!

Writing about my interests: natural pregnancy and birth; attachment parenting; cooking; baking; homeschooling; green living; human rights; child passenger safety; dog training, and life after weight-loss surgery.

In my free time I try to figure out how I can promote world peace while wasting time on Facebook.

NaNoWriMo 2010

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Feeds

Cream of Mommy Soup is on Facebook!


