I don’t know how she does it

February 1, 2011 at 9:45 pm 2 comments

Poorly, quickly, messily, and with a lot of drama, usually!

I’m not doing much these days. I’m homeschooling, I’m occasionally getting a glimpse at Oprah, I’m seeing My Chemical Romance once in a while. Animal is sick, Mineral is his usual crazy self. The Informant is very helpful around the house, My Masterpiece is one stubborn kid. And, REPEAT. It’s not very exciting, and then it’s 10pm, and then it’s nursing 24352352x/night and then it’s 7am and it all starts again.

I cook, I send My Chemical Romance + a kid or four, to Target for groceries, I wear TD in a sling/carrier/wrap, I eat.  I put away laundry. The kids do their laundry, put it away, pour milk on cereal, make peanut butter and jelly, ride their bikes, color, fill out workbook pages, and vacuum.

I’m working on life with Mineral. He is a challenging child. I’m reading “The Explosive Child,” for some suggestions on making life with him easier. He is very easily irritated by his siblings; being the oldest of five doesn’t help. Food is another difficulty. He is very rigid about what he wants and doesn’t want — and often what he wants/doesn’t want conflicts with what the family needs/doesn’t need. He is inflexible and anxious — and I empathize greatly — and parenting him is hard.

I’m also reading “Punished By Rewards,” by Alfie Kohn (I just almost wrote Kofie Annan, LMFAO! I’m tired!) While I find the subject fascinating, I find the actual writing itself very very dry. And for someone who is sleep-deprived, dry writing doesn’t help.

Bedtime. Nursing time.

Entry filed under: attachment parenting, family, homeschool. Tags: , .

Larger than my baby’s head Redirecting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michele  |  February 2, 2011 at 2:40 am

    I’ve heard good things about “The Explosive Child” – best of luck finding a solution that works for your family. I love reading your updates – you are truly in the thick of motherhood! I suspect you will look back on these days with nostalgia when they are all off living their own lives. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Sandie  |  February 5, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    My son has similar issues with being irritated by sibling, and food issues – and he doesn’t sleep. has been diagnosed with Aspergers – but the tag does not make mom’s job any easier!! I have had “The Explosive Child” recommended as well – good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Mommy Soup

Wife and homeschooling mom of five, including my Christmas Day homebirth baby. Not Catholic, Amish, or quiverfull; we just like to... you know!

Writing about my interests: natural pregnancy and birth; attachment parenting; cooking; baking; homeschooling; green living; human rights; child passenger safety; dog training, and life after weight-loss surgery.

In my free time I try to figure out how I can promote world peace while wasting time on Facebook.

NaNoWriMo 2010

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Feeds

Cream of Mommy Soup is on Facebook!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

